Self-Direction

There is great value in setting goals when trying to make the most of self-direction because it is easy to lose track whilst working by yourself. Goals assist me in keeping focused and allow me to make progress as I work on my own.

Each term I formulate personal learning goals, and other goals around my work. Participating in this subject is the result of a PLG, being that “I will enrol in an ICT subject at ACU, so that my skills in ICT will improve”.

I’ve discovered that there is a certain amount of satisfaction that arises from achieving goals.

Goal setting supports good teaching practice. By setting personal goals (in this case learning goals) teachers challenge themselves to become well-informed and to perform better at their practice. Groups like learning networks can set goals for the group and its progress.

Once we stop setting goals we will stagnate teachers.


Leave a comment